Students will follow an overall GCSE Mathematics course and will be expected to be entered for relevant qualifications. The GCSE syllabus delivered by our maths department incorporates topics studied in the National Curriculum up to the end of Key Stage 4. Students will acquire skills to enable them to cope with the mathematical demands of both everyday life and the numeracy demands across other subject areas.

In addition to GCSE Mathematics, students will study for Functional Skills in the subject, appropriate to their level of knowledge from Entry to Level 2, to cement their understanding of mathematical life skills.


Assessment Details

At GCSE, students will be expected to take assessment in 3 papers. Each paper is a written exam of 1 hour 30 minutes’ duration. The qualification consists of three equally weighted written examination papers at either Foundation tier or Higher tier. Paper 1 is a non-calculator assessment and a calculator is allowed for Paper 2 and Paper 3.

The assessments will cover the following content headings: Number / Algebra / Ratio /proportion and rates of change / Geometry and measures / Probability and Statistics

The qualification will be graded and certificated on a nine-grade scale from 9 to 1 using the total mark across all three papers where 9 is the highest grade.

  • Foundation tier: grades 1 to 5.
  • Higher tier: grades 4 to 9.

For Functional Skills, students will be entered for assessments at their targeted level from Entry Level 3 up to and including Level 2

Maths Timetable Preview PDF Download PDF

Require more Information?

"My child has excelled since attending the Becaon of Light. He is now a completely different person." Beacon of Light School Parent
"My son is really happy at the Beacon of Light School. "The staff have made him want to go to school and he is now taking an interest in his education. I could not ask for a better school or better education for my son." Parent Beacon of Light School

Our Supporters